In this world you will have trouble……

There are times in life that it feels like Satan has tackled you to the ground, pinned down and is rubbing your face in the mud. There is a heaviness as though you can’t breathe and you can’t move.

As I look out the window at this cloudy, gloomy, overcast day, I find that it matches my heart today. Sad, heavy….. hard to breathe at times. I lost my precious Aunt Dorris yesterday. I am named after her. Dorris Sue and Kimberly Sue. We shared a special bond. She was always a safe place for me…. home. A place of comfort and love. She was always there with a smile and a hug for me. Her home always felt like my home. Many mornings of sitting at her dining table eating breakfast and having coffee. Talking about nothing and everything all at the same time. She loved my kids and they love her. She treated Ronnie like one of her own. So many treasured memories over the years….. I will love you always and hold you in my heart….. till we meet again.

The Bible tells us that in this world we will have troubles (John 16:33)…. and sometimes, while it is easy to lose focus and take our eyes off Jesus…. we have to remember He is there. He cares that we are hurting and with him we will get through the tough stuff.

Weeks like this one are hard. Two family members in the hospital, losing my aunt, the loss of two dear friends from church, another family friend in the hospital and someone dear to me who has been betrayed and hurt by a family member. It is so easy to want to crawl in bed and pull the covers up over our head and scream and cry. And that is OK. For a bit. But then, we have to get up, put on the full armour of God and move forward. Always in Hope. Always in faith. Always in confidence.

The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit… Psalm 34:18

Leave a comment