Do not worry

I love being a child of God. I love watching Him work out the very details of the things I have prayed for. It doesn’t always look like what I had in my mind but it is always perfect.  I love that I do not have to worry (yet, I do sometimes). I love that He loves me so much that He wants the best for me.

The past weeks have been overwhelming at times to say the least. A weekend in the woods with my prayer warriors and “sole sisters” and praying over the next phase of our journey to a simpler life and I have been in awe of the things he has done.

When we first started planning for this move we planned to live in a camper after selling our home and while looking for the next. As we researched our options for places to park the camper and how that would look for 3 adults and a dog we became a bit worried. Then through a conversation with a precious friend we learned of a potential rental house that might be available in perfect timing and near the area we hope to return. A phone call, a walk through and a few details later and a rental house is lined up. A couple days later I was reading through a local Facebook page for residents of our small town and saw a person asking if anyone on the list would be interested in selling a home soon and detailed what she was looking for. It sounded like my house that she was describing….. even though we are still a few weeks away from being ready to sell, I reached out to her. I told her our plans and time-frame and she said that she and her husband are very interested and to please let them know when we are ready to show the house. Today I received another message that even though we are not yet ready to show the house and she knows that there are still things we are working on they would really like to see the house to determine if it’s one to keep on their short list as they continue to look at other homes. She said she doesn’t care if there are boxes and piles every where they just want to see the house. Can you say TAIL SPIN!? Within minutes my head was spinning and thinking and wondering how on earth I could make this happen. Carpet is being put down next week, a door replacement the week after. Boxes and boxes and piles of stuff are every where. I found myself becoming anxious and more overwhelmed. I messaged a friend to pray for me…. and within minutes I saw 3 scriptures on Facebook reminding me that God’s got this.  Peace enveloped me and I found myself calm.

I was reminded of this story:

A religious man is on top of a roof during a great flood. A man comes by in a boat and says “get in, get in!” The religious man replies, ” no I have faith in God, he will grant me a miracle.”

Later the water is up to his waist and another boat comes by and the guy tells him to get in again. He responds that he has faith in god and god will give him a miracle. With the water at about chest high, another boat comes to rescue him, but he turns down the offer again cause “God will grant him a miracle.”

With the water at chin high, a helicopter throws down a ladder and they tell him to get in, mumbling with the water in his mouth, he again turns down the request for help for the faith of God. He arrives at the gates of heaven with broken faith and says to Peter, I thought God would grand me a miracle and I have been let down.” St. Peter chuckles and responds, “I don’t know what you’re complaining about, we sent you three boats and a helicopter.”

Sometimes the answers to our prayers come in ways that do not look like what we prayed for…. yet He is there. He is taking care of us. We just have to trust HIS ways are better than our ways.

So, today, I am thankful for the reminders that He is in control. Even if these are not the people that will buy our home I have complete faith that He is working out the details for a family that will love our home as much as we have.

 

Leave a comment